Tiger grapplers down Rockford


Tiger grapplers down Rockford

Valley wrestlers ended the regular season at home Thursday night in a quadrangular with North Fayette, Turkey Valley and Rockford. 

The Tigers pleased the Parents’ Night crowd by opening with a win over Rockford, 48-24. Geordan Hanson and Jared Kerr and Kenny Orr all had throws.

There was no report on either the North Fayette or Turkey Valley contests by press time.

Valley 48, Rockford 24

106- Elsbernd won by forfeit; 113- no match; 120- Kerr threw Portis, 5:53; 126- Wander won by forfeit; 132- Atkinson won by forfeit; 138- Wander threw Stiger, 1:56; 145 Burgin won by forfeit; 152- Guyer thrown by Neff, 2:29; 160- Valley forfeits’ 170- Hanson threw Stiger, 0:52; 187- Valley forfeits; 195- Valley forfeits; 220- Orr threw Kuhlemeier, 0:37; Hwt- no match.


The 2013 UIC Wrestling tournament in Postville was one of the most exciting in years, with many good matches and three teams battling down to the wire for the title.

In the end, the Cougars of Sumner-Fredericksburg pulled off the repeat. However, it wasn’t easy as they trailed a band of Trojans from Turkey Valley going into the final round. Both teams had six in the championship round and North Fayette was breathing down both team’s backs all day and had seven in the title round.

However, the Cougars came up strong when they had to as all six wrestlers posted W’s in championship action. In the final round, S-F recorded three throws, a major decision, a 4-2 win and Brady Meyer won by medical forfeit to move to 155-30 in his career.

Valley had senior Mike Burgin win the 152-pound crown. Burgin won his 100th career match earlier in the meet. Jared Kerr, Spencer Atkinson, and Nick Wander all made into the competition for third place, with Kerr and Wander earning third place.


2013 UIC Wrestling

Team Results

Team Pts Ch.  

Sumner/Fred 248.5  6

Turkey Valley 226   2

North Fayette 210   3

MFL/MM/CE 149   0

South Winn 125   2

Valley 85   1

Postville  56   0

Clayton Ridge 49   0



106 – Elsbernd (6th) – Lost 15-0 tech fall to Langreck (S-F); bye; lost 18-2 tech fall to Ducharme (MFL/MM); LBF to Fisher (SW), 5:46.

120 – J. Kerr (3rd) – Bye; lost 5-4 dec. to Larson (NF); won 14-3 maj. dec. over Cunningham (CR); won 8-2 dec. over Rudnitzki (MFL/MM)

126 – Atkinson (4th) – WBF over Decker (MFL/MM), 3:55; LBF to Ganske (S-F), 1:44; won medical forfeit over Reicks (TV); lost 4-1 dec. to Uribe (SW)

132 – J. Wander (5th) – LBF to Fletcher (MFL/MM), 3:59; bye; LBF to Kime (S-F), 2:08; bye

138 – N. Wander (3rd) – Won 8-3 dec. over Miller (NF); LBF to Meyer (S-F), 0:58; WBF over Unzeitig (SW), 1:03; WBF over Corlett (MFL/MM), 5:32

145 – Burgin (1st) – Bye; won 7-5 dec. over Rausch (S-F); won 6-1 dec. over Buckendahl (TV)

152 – Guyer (5th) – Lost 9-4 dec. to Meyer (SW); bye; LBF to Seitsinger (S-F), 2:20; bye

170 – Hanson (6th) – LBF to Klimesh (TV), 5:04; bye; LBF to Streeter (NF), 1:56; LBF to Lenz (S-F), 3:25




Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here