SW Trap Team holds annual banquet


CUTLINE: Members of the 2013 South Winn Trap Team included (front, l-r) Shaun Dehning, Alex Hertges, Michael Lyons, Cassidy Buddenberg, Jennifer Panos, Logan Bohr, Tyler Hertges, Dakota Hageman; (middle) Walker Hotvedt, Kyle Woodson, Nicole Kuboushek, Leah Elsbernd, Katie Imoehl, Ben Hanson, Ryan Guyer, Kylee Riehle, and Benjamin Klimesh; (back) Trey Bauers, Brian Andera, Joseph Buchheit, Dallas Bohr, Josiah Baker, Nick Buchheit, Kevin Ward, and Trygve Lien. Members not pictured are Macauley Hageman, Joclyn Bushman, Brandon Dahl, Landers Kuboushek, and Jeremy Imoehl. (submitted photo) 






SW Trap Team holds annual banquet


The 30-member South Winn Trap Team recently held its annual banquet with members, families, bus drivers, and sponsors, along with open shooting, a dinner, and awards.

The 2013 team was led by head coach Jeff Ira and assistants Kevin Buchheit, Hugh Curtis, Russ Freerking, Bill Klimesh, Mike Klimesh, Jeff Schissel, and Chad Zahasky.

Nicole Kuboushek and Logan Bohr were awarded the Top Gun awards for boys and girls as determined by a combination of the season scores and their score at State.

The Most Improved awards were given to Nicole Kuboushek and Kevin Ward and were determined by the coaches as to who they felt improved the most over the time he/she had been shooting. The 2013 season was Ward’s first year, while it was Kuboushek’s second.

The D.W. Award was given to Dakota Hageman in honor of Darin Wurzer, who was instrumental in implementing trapshooting at South Winn. The team established this award in Darin’s memory after he died in 2008 and is given to a senior student who shows leadership qualities and is looked up to by his/her peers.

Hageman was also chosen by his teammates to receive the Team Spirit Award.

Hugh Curtis of Hawkeye who has contributed his time, talents, and monetarily to the SW Trap Team for many years, was awarded the Triple AAA Sponsorship Award.

Students who received the 25-straight patches and pins included Nicole Kuboushek, Leah Elsbernd, Dallas Bohr, Trey Bauers, Brian Andera, Logan Bohr, Joseph Buchheit, Macauley Hageman, and Dakota Hageman for shooting 25 out of 25 birds.

Board members of the South Winn Trap Team are president Joel Hageman, secretary Nancy Buchheit, treasurer Patty Hageman, Jody Bohr, and Jeff Schissel.

A four-week summer league will begin Thursday, July 25, and will run every Thursday until Aug. 15 at Chase the Adventure. Participants will be shooting 50 targets per night, 25 from the 16-yard line and 25 from a handicapped yardage to be determined. The cost is $40 for the league and participants are responsible for their own ammunition. 

For more information, contact Mike Klimesh at (563) 380-4224.



Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here