School board election results James Clausen of West Union garnered 10 write-in votes during Tuesday’s school board elections to be named the unofficial winner of North Fayette’s District 4 seat. Clausen has yet to be contacted to learn if he will accept the position.

Incumbent Kathy Wenthold, who chose not to seek re-election for the seat, received eight votes.  Meanwhile, Garrett Crandall received seven votes, and Tobin Britt, five. 

North Fayette voters cast 55 write-in ballots for the District 4 seat.

North Fayette incumbents Julie Ahrens, Karen Michelson and Carolyn Roys ran unopposed.

Meanwhile, Valley voters elected Debra Loftgard (239 votes) and incumbent Mark Howard (189) to the school district’s two at-large seats. KinDee Durnan tallied 44 votes.

In addition, Fayette County voters voted to renew the Northeast Iowa Community College 20¼-cent levy by a 629-192 tally.

Additional school results included:

North Fayette – (Incumbent) Julie Ahrens, District 5, 135; (I) Karen Michelson, District 6, 135; (I) Carolyn Roys, District 7, 135.

Northeast Iowa Community College – John C. Rothlisberger, District 1, 421.

West Central – (I) Brent Sharff, District 2, 62; (I) Charles Barry, director-at-large, 54.

According to unofficial results, only 154 or 4.3 percent of North Fayette and only 259 or 15.7 percent of Valley eligible voters turned out for the Tuesday, Sept. 13, school board elections. 

The Fayette County school board election results will be officially canvassed at 9 a.m. on Friday.



Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here