Core group to lead SW



Swarming the oval for 2014 is a large group of South Winn girls, including (front, l-r) Courtney Humpal, Amber Brincks, Josie Kriener, Mahogani Boe, Jessica Lechtenberg, Riley Ott, RaeAnn Klimesh, Lexie Warth, Kendal Kuboushek; (middle) Alexis Patterson, Christina Nesvik, Ashley Budde, Maddie Monroe, Morgan Martin, Sarah Meyer, Kelly Kuboushek, Lee Balik, Jenna Elsbernd, Sabrina Marken; (back) Kennidee DeVilbiss, Abby Phillips, Tiana Bullerman, Becca Franzen, Monica Schwartzhoff, Brittany Shindelar, Savannah Nesvik, Abby Hageman, Becca Hertges, and Kendra Fosaaen. (Becky Walz photo)


Core group to lead SW



Courtney Humpal, Abby Phillips, Kennidee DeVilbiss, Brittany Shindelar, Jessica Lechtenberg, and Lexie Warth are just six Lady Warriors that South Winn coach Kevin Kearney expects to form the nucleus of his girls’ team.

“These six have competed at a very high level for us over the past couple years,” said Kearney. “They are competitive, talented, and work hard to achieve their goals.”

Kearney believes his team will be solid in field events led by Phillips, a senior, has been one of the better jumpers in northeast Iowa for the past three seasons, competing at State the past two.

The longtime coach expects juniors Humpal and Shindelar to excel in the shot put and continue to improve in their discus throws as well.

As another junior, Warth adds depth to the long jump and returns as a state qualifier in the 100m hurdles.

Holding down the middle distance as well as the 400m hurdles will be DeVilbiss. The senior qualified for the blue oval a year ago in both the 400m dash and the 400m hurdles.

Lechtenberg returns for her junior season to run the 3000m and will lead the team’s deepest group – distance runners.

Of concern for Kearney are the injuries that were sustained in the off-season to several key contributors.

“That really affects our depth, and it is likely we will be without most of these individuals for the entire season,” said Kearney. “They leave some big holes in performance and leadership that we need some people to step into.”

 Other seniors set to lead the team in 2014 are Mahogani Boe, Kendal Kuboushek, Alexis Patterson, Sarah Meyer, and Kendra Fosaaen.

Juniors on the 2014 squad include Kelly Kuboushek, Lee Balik, Becca Franzen, Monica Schwartzhoff, and Savannah Nesvik.

Those from the sophomore class to squeeze into the lineup are Riley Ott, RaeAnn Klimesh, Jenna Elsbernd, Sabrina Marken, and Becca Hertges.

Freshman learning the ropes include Amber Brincks, Josie Kriener, Christina Nesvik, Ashley Budde, Maddie Monroe, Morgan Martin, Tiana Bullerman, and Abby Hageman.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here